Skip to content

10/31 – Top five fears

October 30, 2008

Happy Halloween!

Today – what are you are most afraid of?  What terrifies you? What are your five top bete noires, bugaboos, boogey men, nightmares, or, indeed, nachtmares?

Bonus question – Your personal best costume that you wore on a Halloween (not just around the house).

Bonus – bonus if you can provide a picture. Bonus-bonus-bonus if the picture looks something like this:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2008 10:41 am

    Personally, I would welcome our Imperialist Canadian Overlords, and I look forward to enjoying the moose steaks, curling tournaments, socialized health care, and street signs in French that their rule will bring.

  2. October 31, 2008 10:53 am

    What I fear most is:
    1. Laura’s 1, 2, 3
    2. My mother finding out what my work telephone number is
    3. Mountain lions eating my loved ones
    4. British/Aussie comedians mysteriously losing the urge to wear eyeliner and dress up as women, which makes me laugh and laugh and sometimes fall in love with them (I’m talking about you Eddie Izzard)
    5. Running out of Internets

  3. October 31, 2008 12:32 pm

    I see every day as a potential Halloween. In fact, today I’m dressed as a content manager for a bank. Yesterday I was dressed exactly like Mrs. Marcy Friedman, hostess of a Bat Mitzvah MK attended in 1979.

    My favorite costume is “Freelance Writer” — I wore variations of it for the two years before I came to work here. It consists of flannel pjs with poodles or dancing sheep on them, bedhead, fuzzy slippers, and either an extra large coffee or whiskey and soda. Those were happy happy days, until the big contract ran out.

  4. October 31, 2008 2:36 pm

    I’ve just been informed (by an actual live Canadian person) that there’s no such thing as a curling tournament — it’s a “bonspiel”. No, I am not making it up. It’s on the wikipedia!

    I certainly hope this little mistake doesn’t affect my post-takeover moose-rations!

  5. October 31, 2008 4:20 pm

    Zombie quail, sharks, whatever. Mountain lions are so much closer to figuring out how to attach lasers to their heads. They are learning to love human flesh and they are hunting joggers and campers throughout the metro area! The only place you’re safe is in downtown Denver!

Leave a Reply

